Today I have signed the Holocaust Memorial Day 2012 Pledge

Late last year I joined students from Southampton to visit Auschwitz-Birkenau as part of a project led by the Holocaust Educational Trust.  It was a chilling and moving experience. Today is Holocaust Memorial Day, which takes place every year on 27th January.  It  provides us all with the chance to learn from the lessons of the Holocaust, Nazi Persecution and subsequent genocides in Cambodia, Rwanda, Bosnia and Dafur.  We all should hope for and work towards a future without hatred, discrimination and persecution.

This is why today I have signed the Holocaust Memorial Day Pledge, which reads:

As part of my commitment to ending the language of hatred, I will:

  • challenge the language of hatred when I hear it and never use it myself
  • carefully consider how I use my voice and will tell others how I feel in a way that does not harm or offend whether I am speaking to others, online or in writing
  • give voice to the voiceless and use my words to draw attention to the experiences of others
  • work with my friends, family, colleagues and my community to create a society which is free from the dangers of persecution and hatred

The full pledge is below and more information about Holocaust Memorial Day can be found by clicking here.

John

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.