Remploy: it was clear that the Government’s rules did not give Southampton even half a chance

Following yesterday’s announcement by the Government on Remploy, John Denham has reacted to the news that Southampton’s Remploy factory is now due to close.

Last month John visited Remploy in Southampton to offer his support to employees.

John says:

“I would like to express my sadness to those employees at Remploy who will lose their jobs as a result of today’s Government announcement.

“I visited the factory in Southampton a few weeks ago.  While I was there I saw huge potential, especially with the production line in adjustable glasses which are then supplied to developing countries.  Those disabled workers now face the horrible situation of having to find a new job.

“It was clear that the Government’s rules did not give Southampton even half a chance of putting a business case together”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.