Boundary Review revised proposals: John responds

Today the Boundary Commission has published its report on constituency boundaries.  The new revised proposals would mean that Southampton would not be represented by 4 different MPs.

The revised proposals would mean that Southampton Itchen would retain its existing borders and Southampton Test would remain the same with the addition of Swaythling ward.  Bassett would remain part of the Romsey and Southampton North constituency.

The original proposals had suggested that Bitterne ward (which covers the Thornhill area of the city) would be separated from the rest of Southampton, with Chillworth and Nursling entering Southampton, and Swaythling becoming part of Eastleigh.  Labour did not support these proposals, but the Tories did.

John Denham, Labour MP for Southampton Itchen said:

“It is now unlikely that there will be any boundary changes before the next election but I’m pleased the Boundary Review reflected the wishes of people from Bitterne ward, supported by Labour.  Common sense has prevailed.

“Residents of Bitterne and Thornhill won’t forget that the Southampton Conservatives wanted to push them out of the city and into a constituency that was linked to Fareham.”

Alan Whitehead, Labour MP for Southampton Test said:

“The vast majority of local people who took part in this review said they want to keep the strong link we have right now between Southampton as a city and its MPs.  Southampton Tories are completely out of step with the public on this issue, and I hope they’ll now drop their bizarre support for carving up Southampton and diluting the voice of our city in Parliament.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.